RDHS Bowling wins McDonell Award 4th time in a row

WILMETTE, Ill –Regina Dominican High School recently  announced the winner of the McDonell Award, recognizing the athletic team with the highest collective Grade Point Average (GPA) during a given sports season, to the  Bowling Panthers.  This marks the 4th straight season that the Bowling Panthers have won this award.

“Congratulations to Coach Biegel and Coach Michalek and their team on winning the McDonell Award for the winter sport season,” athletic director Brian Mancuso stated.  “The bowling team has done an outstanding job on the academic side of things.  Winning this award 4 times in a row is very impressive."

The Bowling team finished with a 3.837 GPA (on a 4.0 scale).

The team will have their name etched on a permanent plate outside the gymnasium to commemorate the honor.

Team members include:

Senior 2023
Margaret Boysen
Erin Collins
Sarah Degand
Grace Leahy
Carlie Villa

Junior 2024
Reese Bankston
Madi Cyze
Phoebe Frisch
Ella Grillo
Lily Grillo
Nora Grillo
Nora McNaughton
Bridie Murphy
Eve Nathaus
Daniella O’Connor
Heather Shields
Ava Spallone
Kathryn Starman
Marlena Tomasicyk

Freshman 2026
Claire Boysen
Esthela Gemoets
Ari Kareotes
Sofie Morrow
Nora Richards
Ella Smolka
Marijana Tomasicyk
Bella Wagner

The McDonell Award is named in honor of former Regina Dominican Administrator Patricia “Pat” McDonell who retired in June 2019. She believed that academic and athletic excellence should go hand in hand.  Pat was a mentor, a leader, and a friend to everyone in the Regina Dominican community.  This award celebrates her legacy and will be given each sports season – fall, winter and spring to the qualifying team.

Previous Award winners:

  • Fall 2019-Volleyball
  • Winter 2019-2020-Bowling
  • Spring 2020-Softball
  • Fall 2020-Tennis
  • Winter 2020-2021-Bowling
  • Spring 2021-Soccer
  • Fall 2021-Tennis
  • Winter 2021-2022-Bowling
  • Spring 2022-Softball
  • Fall 2022-Tennis
  • Winter 2022-2023-Bowling